In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the given memorandum, the author recommends that Prunty County should implement the same road improvement project that was done in Butler County in order to decrease the number of accidents. However, the argument is flawed for numerous following reasons, as it relies on unwarranted assumptions.

Firstly, the author hastily assumes that lowering highway speed limit last year was not successful by simply referring to the number of accidents and by using the vague term, “many drivers are exceeding the speed limit.” This is a weak and unsupported claim, as the argument does not demonstrate any clear evidence that the accidents happened at the same level of severity. Also, it was not provided that how much the “many” drivers--though we don’t know how significant the number is—are exceeding the speed limit. Therefore, it is possible that although the accidents are taking place at the same frequency, the severity may have mitigated with less casualty, and even though many drivers exceed the speed limit, it might be just moderate excess. If the argument showed that more detailed data of car accident and of the record of the drivers’ breech of speed limit, then it would be more convincing that the lowering highway speed limit was nothing but failure.

Secondly, the author assumes that the same kind of road improvement project that has been done in Butler County would surely work in Prunty County. However, the author provides no adequate evidence to substantiate this assumption that the same project would work in a different county in a different time. Even though the road improvement project might work in Prunty County, it is possible that the project might not turn out to be as efficient in Butler County. It is entirely possible, for example, that the roads in Prunty County are relatively new than those in Butler County so that they do not need any road refurbishment, which is the main part of the road improvement project. Or, it is also possible that the number of bicycle, which is the main cause of car accident, has increase over the past five years, and the road improvement project five years ago would not be effective anymore in Prunty County. Had the argument provided information regarding the similarities and differences of the road condition and other factors affecting traffic of Butler County and Prunty County, the argument would have been more convincing.

Lastly, even if the assumptions above are somehow guaranteed to be true, the author hastily assumes that the 25 percent decrease of the accident in Butler County surely means the effectiveness of the road improvement project. However, common sense tells us that simply knowing a decrease rate does not provide much information about the situation. Although 25 percent decrease might mean the significantly lower accident incidents among other counties, it is also possible that the actual accident number of Butler County is still higher than that of Prunty County even after 25 percent decrease. Without corroborating the argument with the relevant data that compares the exact number and severity of car accidents in Prunty County and Butler County, the argument would not be persuasive.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and therefore it is dubious. In order to evaluate the value of the decision, it is essential to have full knowledge of all contributing factors.