To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

The given statement asserts that without studying the major cities, one cannot understand the important characteristics of a society. To some extent, it is true that studying main cities is critical when understanding characteristics of a society. However, since the argument is too strong, I cannot fully agree with the statement.

Needless to say, it is undeniable that main cities of a country often not only to be the capital of history, culture, and politics, but also to be highly populated. In case of countries that have kept the same main cities for centuries, it would make no sense to say one has a good understanding of the country without knowing the important aspects of the main city. How can a person say he knows France when he has totally missed out Paris? What about understanding Italy without studying Rome? Can one say she has a basic knowledge of Britain if she has totally overlooked the city of London? At least for understanding these countries, it would not be exaggerating to say it is a ‘must’ to study their main cities.

However, when it comes to other countries, whose small cities tell us more about the various aspects of the society rather than the main cities, the statement that one ‘must’ focus on the main cities cannot convince us. Although the most populated, main cities of Australia are Sydney, Melbourne and Canberra, limiting oneself to these cities would not be helpful when understanding the country. Rather, the small cities in the Northern and inland part of Australia, in which the most of Indigenous Australians resided, would provide more useful information for understanding the Australian society. This shows that for some countries studying main cities only provides limited and superficial information of the society.

Moreover, in the globalized modern world, focusing on large cosmopolitan cities may distract us or even mislead us from grasping important features of a society. Since most of the big cities of each country experience an increase of immigrants and travellers with diverse cultural background, simply relying on these main cities would hinder us from seeing the real picture of the society. Although studying the city of London may provide us with recent change of Britain experiences in terms of globalization, it would be difficult to understand the traditional value of Britain, which may be still held by the community members in a small town.

To sum, although looking closely at the major cities of a country is important, especially for countries that have accumulated their historical and social values in their capital cities, it is also limited in other cases. Therefore, I cannot fully agree with the given statement that studying main cities is a ‘must’ to obtain a good understanding of a country.