Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented

What is the limit of responsibility of corporations and how should it be defined? This has been fiercely argued over a century. Some argue that corporations have only responsibility to comply with the laws, whereas others argue their extended ethical and moral responsibility, which considers the well-being of the societies and environments. I believe that this question depending on how we define the role and position of corporations in our society. Believing that corporations are one of the subjects exchanging interactions with other bodies of a society, I argue that corporations’ responsibility should not be just bound to the legal limitations, especially in this fast changing world.

Firstly, the rapid change of technology makes it difficult to rely on regulations when it comes to limiting the responsibility of corporations. Considering the new technologies in chemicals, information systems, data science, etc., delegation of limiting the power of corporations solely to the legal system, which changes slowly, seems extremely detrimental. Consider, for example, a range of corporations collect and use the data of their consumers. It is said that the amount of data accumulated on the hard drive of a company cannot even be countable, and moreover, its future use is not even imaginable. Nevertheless, the regulation on such personal data collection, usage, and sales is not yet properly established. Therefore, fast changing technology warns that corporations’ responsibility should not be bound to the law.

Secondly, the increasing speed of social change is also making it more difficult to allow the corporations limiting their responsibilities solely to the law. When it comes to a society where experiences a fast increase of immigrants, such as Australia, it is not difficult to find many people fall into chasm, as the social safety net is not fully ready. It has been reported that companies in Australia still surreptitiously discriminate people of color in employment because the regulation is not rigorous enough. Thus, the change of a society also makes it deleterious to rely on the law when it comes to delimit the responsibility of corporations.

Of course, some may still argue that the main and foremost purpose of corporations is the maximization of benefits, and thus as long as a company contributes to the GDP, it owes nothing to the society. It is difficult to deny that corporations produce jobs as well as infrastructures, such as roads and buildings, which surely improves the well-being of the public. However, this should be pointed out that companies limiting their responsibilities only to the law would not be appealing to the consumers who now have developed not only moral and ethical standards of evaluating companies but also bigger consumer power, which has been given by the prevalent of the social media. Thus, even for their own sake, companies should consider becoming responsible for the community.

In conclusion, while corporations may not responsible more than the law requires, there are other factors should be considered, such as fast changing technology and society. Also, it is also required to consider the new trends of social media and growing consumer power, which has strong impact on companies, when companies define their responsibility.