59. The following appeared in a memo from the president of Bower Builders, a company that constructs new homes.

A nationwide survey reveals that the two most-desired home features are a large family room and a large, well- appointed kitchen. A number of homes in our area built by our competitor Domus Construction have such features and have sold much faster and at significantly higher prices than the national average. To boost sales and profits, we should increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens in all the homes we build and should make state-of-the-art kitchens a standard feature. Moreover, our larger family rooms and kitchens can come at the expense of the dining room, since many of our recent buyers say they do not need a separate dining room for family meals.

In this memo, the president of Bower Builders argues that they should increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens at the expense of the dining room to galvanize its sales and profits. However, the argument is flawed for numerous following reasons, since it relies on unwarranted explicit and implicit assumptions.

Firstly, the author assumes that the nationwide survey is reliable and trustworthy. Although this might be the case, there are two questions to ask before blindly relying on this survey. Firstly, is the survey conducted towards a reasonable number of people with a sound statistical knowledge? If the survey is not conducted based on an adequate method, the author cannot argue based on the survey. Secondly, is the result of the national survey applicable to the local market? It is possible that while the national survey indicates that most of people favor a large family room and kitchen, the people in the local market, on which Bower Builders should focus, may not share the same opinion. Thus, the author should provide relevant data about the nationwide survey and its relationship with the local market.

Secondly, even if assumption above somehow guaranteed to be true, the author is still unreasonably assumes that the reason that houses built by Domus Constuction sold much faster at a significantly higher price solely because of its large family rooms and kitchens. However, the author provides no adequate evidence to substantiate this assumption. It is entirely possible, for example, that those houses are sold much faster at a higher price, because of their location or other architecture elements, such as light or modern exterior design. If this turns out to be true, the author’s assumption that if only build houses with large size of family rooms and kitchens would not be cogent.

Lastly, even conceding that local customers strongly favors large family rooms and kitchens and these are the only requirements to sell houses fast and at a high price, the author still makes false assumption that the opinion of the ‘many’ recent buyers can be generalized to the whole market consumers. However, common sense tells us that simply ‘many’ people cannot be taken as the opinion of the whole population. We need to know if the ‘many’ is really significant number, which can represent the whole customer population of Bower Builders. If it turns out that their preference for large family room and kitchen at the expense of dining room cannot be extended to the whole customers, the author’s argument cannot be persuasive.

In sum, the argument is a dubious one. To corroborate it, the author needs to provide if the nationwide survey is reliable for the decision-making. Also, it needs to be elucidated whether houses will be sold only if they have larger family rooms and kitchens even at the expense of dining rooms.