The following appeared in a memo from the president of Bower Builders, a company that constructs new homes.A nationwide survey reveals that the two most-desired home features are a large family room and a large, well- appointed kitchen. A number of homes

This memo by the president of Bower Builder who are in interior designing field to his employees. It in memo he tell his desginers that now-a -days customers need large family room and well appointed kitchen. He had made the conclusion based on a nationwide survey and the increase in one of his competitors Domus Construction who provide such design. The president of the companys ask his designer to sacirfice the dining area as no customers in now-a-days seperate dining room. The president here has made number of assumptions before making this conclusion which can result in unwanted consequences.

Firstly, The president states that based on a nationwide survey the people desire to have large family room and kitchen. But he failed to mention that the survey targeted which kind of people and which area in particular. As we all know that the desire of perfect house of people is highly influenced by the area they live and the social status. So the president should first make sure that survey targeted same kind of people as their customers. If their customers as not from the targeted people than they might don't like the design.

Secondly, President assumed that the significant increase in the sales of his competitor Domus Construction is just because their design provides large family room and kitchen. There can be number of reasons why the custormer choose Domus construction. Like one of reason might he is providing many more things in his design which the company is not able to provide. There can be considerable difference in charges of Domus contructions and Bower Builder. So the President should consider all aspect before making such assumptions.

Mainly, I feel that designers should design the house based on the requirement of that customer in particular instead of any survey. Requirement of their house differs from person to person based on the one's use. So the president should not believe on any these survey and ask his designer to design based on customers requirement. He should find out the other reason Domus Constructions is better than his company. Then, he should make efforts to make his company better and increase the sales.

Thus the president should consider all the aspects above before instructing his designers. Instructing the desginers in wrong ways may be perennial to the company. So he should think of people targeted in the survey an factors making Domus Construction better. Increasing sales of any company can be easily done if proper research is done.