Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below- normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the given letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client, it argues that the client should invest in Consolidated Industries. However, this argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on the unwarranted assumption that people will continue using the traditional heating system, which requires oil, and that the increased demand of heating oil will surely lead the company, Consolidated Industries, profitable.

The author of the letter unjustifiably assumes that most of the residents in the Northeastern United States would continue using the traditional heating system, which requires heating oil. By relying on such assumption, the author postulates that the heating oil consumption would increase. However, the author provides no adequate evidence to substantiate this assumption. It is entirely possible, for example, that the majority of residents in that area renovate their houses from oil heating to solar energy heating to save money. Moreover, the many new homes the author anticipates to be built in accordance of the population increase may not be equipped with the oil heating system, but other alternative heating system, which can save more money. In such case, the argument would lose its ground to argue that the oil consumption would increase.

Even if the assumption above is somehow guaranteed to be true, the author still unreasonably assumes that approximately 90 days of below normal temperatures will continue as the weather forecaster predicts. Firstly, it is not provided that how low the temperatures have been during the 90 days. If the temperatures were fairly mild even if it was below normal temperatures, it would weaken the argument. Secondly, even if the temperatures were significantly lower than the normal temperatures, it is still possible that the prediction of the forecaster may not correct. To corroborate the argument, the author should provide more convincing data, on which we can rely in predicting future winter temperatures.

Even conceding that the oil consumption will increase as the future winter temperatures will significantly decrease, the author makes an unwarranted assumption that such future situation would surely benefit Consolidated Industries. Although this might be the case, it is possible that it is other rivalry company who become successful, while Consolidated Industries is not as operating efficiently. Or, perhaps Consolidated Industries is actually based on other region than Northeastern United States, where the heating oil consumption is decreasing. Or, it is also possible that the cost of extracting and refining oil soars, so that the company may not perform well even with the increased heating oil consumption. In this case, the argument would become baseless.

In sum, the argument is a specious one. To corroborate it, the author should elucidate whether the extant houses and new houses will have traditional oil-based heating system; the temperatures will be significantly lower than normal temperature; and Consolidated Industries will be successful as the oil consumption increases.