Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position

How can we decide which area scientists and other researchers should focus? Before answering to this question, it should be noted that this is not just a matter of which area scientists and researchers focus, but more about which area should be prioritized when using the financial and time resources human beings have. Thus, I believe that there should be more than just one standard, the greatest number of beneficiaries, for the following reasons.

Firstly, it should be considered which area is experiencing most pressing social, medical, and economical issues. If we overlook urgent issues that require rapid actions, but instead focus our resources on solving less pressing issues, it would not be wise. Consider the fact that mass killing, including suicidal terror, has been a global issue since the establishment of ISIS. The fear of terror has been prevalent all over the world and countries try to protect their citizens from terrorists. Such given situation, it would not be plausible if one argues that scientists and researchers should focus on newly spreading influenza, which causes mild fever, simply because the influenza virus would affect the higher number of people, regardless of the urgency of the issue. Thus, simply considering the number of people affected is not a good way of making a decision.

Secondly, it is also important to consider the long-term benefit of the field progress rather than simply the number of beneficiaries. Some issues of a field require further study to be utilized as a fundamental knowledge of the long-term development of the field. Such work, though may not benefit many people immediately, but critical in the future study. Consider, for example, contriving indispensible components of spacecraft. This does not seem to benefit so many people’s lives at this moment. However, it is vital for the progress of space travel in the future. Therefore, it is important to consider not only how many people research can benefit, but also how critical a study is in a field of endeavor.

Of course, some may still argue that the more people research can serve, the better, and thus the number of people research can help should be prioritized. However, this approach may not be so cost effective in some cases. Consider, for example, if we have to choose between two studies, one is far from completion but will benefit a great number of people, and the other, which is about to be completed with a bit of further support. Although the former one would affect more number of people, it would be more cost effective to focus on the latter, whose completion is so close, rather than investing on the former project, which no one can guarantee to be accomplished.

To sum, while there can be benefits in scientists and other researchers focusing on projects that can contribute to a number of people, such standard cannot and should not be the only one. It is important to consider other conditions when we utilize our financial and time resources as well as scientists and researchers.