The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

What would be the best way to evaluate the greatness of a nation? It could be the current economical status, political advancement, or the value of history. The statement above argues that the greatness of a country cannot be assessed by studying the contributions of individuals but only by the general welfare of its people. While I agree with that the general public welfare is important when evaluating a nation, cannot fully agree that the achievements of great individuals should be neglected for the following reasons.

First of all, the achievements of a nation’s rulers, artists, scholars, or scientists are one of the main factors that affect the well-being of its people. If we simply ignore such great contributions made by the experts, we may not be able to fully understand the general welfare condition of the public. Gough Whitlam, for example, is a previous Prime Minister of Australia who initiated Medicare, one of the most universal medical systems in the world. Without his achievement, which was drawn from his adamant and firm commitment, the general welfare of Australia in these days would not have ranked this high among the other countries, which are still suffer from unstable and insufficient medical system. This shows that the achievements of individuals surely affect the well-being of the public, and thus, without considering such contribution, it is difficult to assess only the general welfare.

Seconldly, it is critical to note that the general welfare of the public can be better assessed if we survey how individuals make achievements in their field of endeavor. The better implemented the general welfare system is, the more likely individuals can succeed in his or her field, which in turn result in groundbreaking achievements. It is not a simple coincident that there have been a number of renowned scientists and social philosophers from Germany. Germany is known for its advanced education system, which encourages critical and liberal thinking ability. Such educational welfare enabled individuals can make significant achievements in their study. Thus, to better assess the greatness of a nation by studying the general welfare of the public, we should not overlook how efficiently individuals can make achievement in their realm.

Of course, some may still argue that without fully understanding the achievements of experts, but only with the welfare system of a nation, it is possible to make a proper conclusion of the greatness of a nation. Again, however, it is not possible to simply assess the well-being of the public without taking into consideration of great achievements of individuals since they have directly and indirectly affected the current welfare of a nation. Koreans, for example, speak their own language which was invented in 15th century by the King Sejong. His achievement, creating a new set of letters, has lowered the illiteracy rate significantly, and this has contributed to the rapid economical development of Korea in 20th century. Thus, it is almost impossible to evaluate the general well-being without ignoring the achievements made by individuals.

Although the argument that only the welfare of the public is important when assessing the greatness of a nation may seem feasible, we should consider the relationship between the general welfare and the achievements of individuals. Without considering the contributions made by political figures, education leaders, and rulers, it is not possible to properly evaluate a nation’s greatness.