Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the statement believes that Omega University should end student evaluation of professors. This conclusion is based on the premise that during the fifteen years of implementation of such an evaluation, the grades of the students were distorted by the professors in order to satisfy the student. To buttress this premise, the author mentions that Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have the graduates from the nearby Alpha University. A number of evidence is required to be incorporated into the argument before making any claim.

First the author claims that the 30 percent increase of the overall student grade averages at Omega is a misrepresentation carried by the professors as an ingratiation for the evaluating students. Such a relation needs an evidence to be established. A fifteen-year time span offer many other potential causes to such an increase. For instance, it is possible that as the students assess their professors, the professors have become more meticulous about their teachings and the education has got better than past, not that simply the grades are inflated.

Furthermore, the author needs firm evidence attesting that the lack of competency of the Omega students in finding jobs after graduation. Merely adducing to a fewer jobs found by Omega graduates, comparing to the jobs found by the Alpha graduates, does not guarantee the success of the latter. It is possible that after getting basic bachelor degrees Omega’s students are transferred to top rank universities for master or P.H.D. degree_ instead of finding jobs. Furthermore, the quality of jobs also should be weighed against each other. In all likelihood, the jobs that are found by the Alpha students is not as qualified as the jobs found by the Omega graduates. If this is the case, the quality of works can compensate the quantity of them for the graduates of Omega.

Finally, even if the Alpha graduates have an advantage in getting jobs, it should be evinced that no other reason has held Omega students back from getting jobs, than their inflated grades. The education field of the two universities might differ. For instance, the engineering field which is taught on Alpha has more demands on the market while the artistic fields taught in the Omega University have not a hot market. It is also possible that the students themselves are diligent in Alpha in finding jobs, but the students in Omega do not seek jobs as seriously as Alpha students. If these are the case, with or without the evaluation of professors by the students, still the finding jobs would not be changed a bit in Omega.

In short, the argument is replete with ambiguous points defying any certain evaluation. The author needs to provide the enumerated evidences without which the conclusion which is based on such an inconclusive argument cannot be tenable.