The following appeared in an article in a consumer-products magazine:

"Two of today's best-selling brands of full-strength prescription medication for the relief of excess stomach acid, Acid-Ease and Pepticaid, are now available in milder nonprescription forms. Doctors have written 76 million more prescriptions for full-strength Acid-Ease than for full-strength Pepticaid. So people who need an effective but milder nonprescription medication for the relief of excess stomach acid should choose Acid-Ease."

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

This argument claims that patients should choose nonprescription Acid-Ease over nonprescription Pepticaid when they need effective milder nonprescription medication to relieve excess stomach acid. The only evidence cited to support this conclusion is that doctors have written 76 million more prescriptions for full strength Acid-Ease than for full-strength Pepticaid. I think that this argument is not convincing, however, because of following reasons:

First of all, the author readily assumes that the full-strength Acid-Ease must be more effective than full-strength Pepticaid because doctors have written more prescriptions for the former. The quantity of doctor's prescriptions might be relevant to the effectiveness of medication, yet the comparison between the prescription for Acid-Ease and that for Pepticaid should be more thorough. It could be possible that the Acid-Ease has been available on the market for many years while Pepicaid has just been introduced to the medical industry. It would be more reasonable if the author could show the quantity of prescription for both brand since they both became available to the patients.

Moreover, a lot of other factors might alter a doctor's decision on choosing a certain brand of medication, rather than the effectiveness. For example, the manufacturer of Acid-Ease may have run campaigns to promote their product more frequently than does the manufacturer of Pepticaid, so that the doctors will always think of Acid-Ease when they need to recommend such type of medication to the patients. Another reason could be that the price of full-strength Acid-Ease is much lower than the price of full-strength Pepticaid, so the doctors would recommend the more affordable one to the patients even if that one is less effective than the other.

Finally, the author suggests that patients should choose the milder nonprescription Acid-Ease over the nonprescription Pepticaid. However, the effectiveness of a certain medicine may change from full-strength form to milder nonprescription form. Even if it is true that the full-strength Acid-Ease is more effective than full-strength Pepticaid, it might not be the same case when they are both in milder nonprescription form. Also, the price and availability of a product should be also taken into consideration when a patient choose the medication. If both of the medication have similar effectiveness, the patients would be more likely to choose the one with more affordable price and the one easier to buy from the pharmacy.

In sum, it would be imprudent for the patients to choose the milder nonprescription Acid-Ease over Pepticaid with the evidences provided. To make the conclusion more compelling, the author would have to prove that the doctors have written more prescription for Acid-Ease solely because of its effectiveness and the milder nonprescription form would have the same effect as the full-strength one.