The following appeared in an article in a health–and–fitness magazine:

"Laboratory studies show that Saluda Natural Spring Water contains several of the minerals necessary for good health and that it is completely free of bacteria. Residents of Saluda, the small town where the water is bottled, are hospitalized less frequently than the national average. Even though Saluda Natural Spring Water may seem expensive, drinking it instead of tap water is a wise investment in good health."

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

This argument claims that it’s wisely for people to drink Saluda Natural Spring Water rather than the tap water even the former is far more expensive than the latter. The evidence cited to support this conclusion is the laboratory studies showing that Saluda Natural Spring Water contains some necessary minerals and it’s free of bacteria. To further support the conclusion, the author also mentioned that the residents of Saluda visit hospital less frequently than the national average. However, I found this argument not convincing and the reasons are as following:

First of all, the author readily assumes that the reason why the Saluda residents go to hospitals less frequently than the people in other towns does is that they drink the Saluda Natural Spring Water. Although the laboratory studies show that the Saluda natural spring water does contain several of minerals which are good for health, this is not necessary the main cause of local residents being healthier. It could be possible that the air condition in Saluda is much better than that in other cities, so people there is living in an environment being good for their health. Also, the residents in Saluda are likely to exercise more than those who live in other cities, so it’s not surprised that they are healthier than the national average. The author would have to eliminate all the other possibilities before making the assumption that drinking natural spring water is the sole reason why people in Saluda is healthier than the national average.

Move over, the author suggests that it would be a good investment in drinking spring water instead of tap water even it’s very expensive. There’s no doubt that the minerals contained in the spring water are good for health, yet it doesn’t mean that it worth the excess cost. With the extra money paid for the spring water, people may be able to buy more nutrition supplies that contain the same minerals. And the fundamental thing is that people can choose what type of mineral they need to take based on the suggestion from doctor, rather than reply on the certain type of minerals offered with the water.

In sum, this argument is not compelling as it fails to address some factors that should be taken into consideration. It would be considerably strengthened if the author could eliminate the other possibilities making the local residents healthier and provide the proof that investment in drinking spring water is worthy comparing with the investment in other nutrient supplies products.