The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The letter from a homeowner seems reasonable at first glance, but on scrutinising, it has some logical fallacies which can lead to the wrong judgement to the real estate firms. I will list all its flaws and materials to bolster my conclusion above.

Firstly, the homeowner has quoted the number of the real estate firms to back up his statement, which may leave the wrong impression about a company. It is possible that Fitch has only set branches in the downtown area or places where there’s a lot of real estate properties, while many of Adams’ agents are in remote area, which contribute little profit to the company. In addition, more branches mean more expenses of the company’s running cost and it may affect

Adams’ profit. By contrast, Fitch has less number of agents and many of them work part-time, which can certainly cut the running budget and raise the profit of the firm. Therefore, detailed information need to be provided to further evaluate the running status of the real estate agents of two companies. In this way, we can draw a more appropriate conclusion about whether more agents are equal to the better operation of a company.

Secondly, the chief aspect to evaluate a company is the profit it makes instead of the revenue. A company with a huge amount of annual revenue could also be unprofitable, if it is not able to cut down its running cost. Moreover, the reason for the disparity of average sales volume of each real estate property may result from their different focuses. For example, Adams is good at selling houses which are normally sumptuous, while Fitch’s speciality is to sell apartments. Hence the profit rates of the two

companies are the key factor to reach at a conclusion about their superiority.

Thirdly, the homeowner has expressed his own experience of these two companies, which is also logically wrong. The experience ten years ago is absolutely not comparable to it one year ago. Fitch may have already improve its service to sell properties much faster than it was ten years ago. Also personal experience is not tenable to illustrate the holistic situations encountered by other customers. Therefore, more statistics are needed to see the average selling speed of every real estate property, which is more eloquent to evaluate the service the two companies.

In sum, what the homeowner has presented in his letter may lead his friend to make the wrong judgement about Adams and Fitch. Hence I suggest more investigations should be done before his friend makes his decision to choose one of the firms.