The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the preceding statement, the author claims that his way of research, interview-centered method, will produce accurate findings of the child-rearing culture in Tertia than Dr. Field's observation-centered technique. He cites various evidence of such studies in some group of islands including Tertia to support his claim. Although the shreds of evidence may seem to have merit to bolster the claim, a scrupulous examination shows the poor reason and grounds on which the conclusion stands. The author needs to provide additional explanation to bridge the gap between the premises and the conclusion.

The initial problem with this argument is the flaw in the author's claim that recent interviews in the group of islands including Tertia found the children talking about their biological parents will necessarily mean that they are grown with care from their biological parents only. However, the evidence does not help to make the conclusion reliable. The author does not mention the types of questions asked to those children. Perhaps the interviewer asked about who gave birth to them, what their parent's names are or said to explain about their parents in detail. Moreover, there is also the possibility of negative replies from the children due to their hatred towards their biological parents during the interviews. For an instance, if the children's parents abandoned them to thrive on their own and the society nurtured the children criticizing about their parents in front of them, the children might have developed antipathy towards them. In this case, when anyone asks about their parents, their reply might be hostile towards their parents the whole time remembering the hard times of their life. If this is found to be true that the interview questions were only about their parents, especially about the biological family, then the argument is sure to be weakened.

Furthermore, the premise on which the author bases his argument, that the interviews was conducted in a group of islands including Tertia is ambiguous and likely to pull the case downward. The researcher mentions that he completed the interview-centered approach in the group of islands vaguely but does not specifically say that the Tertia's children were questioned. Moreover, at the end he mentions that his graduate students "are currently" conducting the research in Tertia which increases the enigma even more. It points to the direction that the initial interviews taken by the author were in the islands to the vicinity of Tertia and not exactly Tertia. We do not know for sure about the similarities and differences in these islands. The cultures and traditions within even two villages are different let alone two different islands. The author is unjustifiably assuming that he will find the same kind of findings in the Tertia as that of other nearby islands. Unless the author accounts for substantial evidentiary support for his premise, the argument will undermine itself.

To sum up, I can come to the agreement that the observational approach by Dr. Field might not be accurate and his findings could not be accurately utilized for learning about the child-bearing traditions in Tertia and in other islands only if the author agrees to fix up his flaws in the warranted claims and premises and provides more support for his evidence. Only after he presents the final findings obtained from the graduate students in Tertia, the argument could be examined for further discussion.