Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Choosing the field of study is a difficult decision for any student, be it a high school elective or a graduation degree. This choice could be a lot easier if the educational institute counsel the student first about all the fields uninterestedly. The prompt suggests that the institutions should guide the students towards those fields that have profitable careers. However, I mostly disagree with the prompt for following three reasons.

Firstly, in this constantly changing world, where use of internet is growing profusely, it is not great option to choose among the money making careers. In addition, there are huge mass of people who are running a race to find a secure career which will allow them to afford affluent lifestyle. This makes it difficult for students to accurately predict whether the lucrative career in present will yield the promised amount in future. For instance, during 1990’s when first computer was invented, educational institutions mainly highlighted the hardware portion of computer science causing more people opting for hardware engineering. Later after five to six years, the demand for hardware engineers were minimum with very high competition. Thus, it is essential to focus on the right option to study rather than preparing for lucrative careers.

Further, to achieve success in life person should have passion for what they do in life. Steve Jobs in one of his interview said “ To be best one among huge mass, you have to know your passion. Otherwise, everything you do will be enervating task for you”. As suggested by one of the legends, who followed his passion and become successful in every part of the field he worked on. It is essential to have interest to work relentlessly. Moreover, we can also exemplify boxer Mohamad Ali, who was world champion for many years, loved what he choose to do throughout his life and thus made him successful. There are many other personalities like Warren Buffet, Bill Gates who were drop out but they excelled in whatever they did because they loved what they did. Therefore, it is essential to love the work you do rather than educational institution teaching you which career path to follow.

Furthermore, careers are always temporary. What is lucrative today might be all lost in the near future. The world is highly volatile. Those who choose any field of study on the basis of the profitability of a career, might regret due to the changing nature of the world. Let's take this as an instance. Few years back, Nuclear scientists were a lot popular. There was race to become a nuclear scientist all over the world. The job was demanding and the governments of many countries too were interested. But, after the nuclear mess happened in Chernobyl, the job has faded away and now those students are struggling. Nowadays software is popular and no one knows how long will it be on the trend. So, choosing any study field by looking at the job prospect should not be encouraged most of the time.

This choice differs from person to person and cannot be generalized to all people by looking at some few cases. However, Educational institutes should first encourage students to choose their field of study according to their passion and then move towards the lucrative career.