GRE sample issue pool essay topic 1

To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Humans have now lived as a social animal for more than 10,000 years. From the stone age, age of barbarians to the modern sophisticated life, we have come a long way. We have gained knowledge of stars, galaxies, atoms and molecules and yet we are still searching answers for what important features make up human society. The prompt suggests that, to understand what the important characteristics of a society are, major cities need to be studied. However, I mostly disagree for following three reasons.

First of all, major cities comprise only a small proportion of people as compared to the total population of the world. Most inhabitants live around in the far country side and unpopular places even in the developed countries. So, the results obtained from studying the major cities cannot be generalized to all the population around the world. For instance, in this covid-infected time, Australian government looked at the worsening situation of the major cities of Australia and announced a nation-wide lockdown. However, the indigenous people of Australia who live far from the major cities, were not affected by covid but were nonetheless restricted due to lockdown. It has caused a huge rift among the indigenous population and the government. So, major cities cannot be even be representative of all the people in the country let alone the whole world.

Secondly, the society in major cities of the world are very introverted and non-interacting in an unnatural way. The haste of work, study and responsibility have made the people across major places isolated. They cannot interact even if they wanted to. Due to this, the results of the study might be somehow affected and might not be as expected. But in less famous places, and country, the people tend to communicate more often and studying those places can result in more natural result. Let's take this as an instance. The people in New York and Washington are too busy even to talk to their own family. They have much convoluted life and have no idea what their neighbor does. How can we get a good report on the formation of a society when everyone is isolated to themselves and have no interaction at all?

Although, major cities cannot represent the whole world and the people living in the major cities are isolated, the study can provide some good observation as well. For example, Major cities are much more crowded, be it in USA, UK or Nepal. The major reason for why the big cities are most populated is job prospect, money and facilities. This mean the majority of human society is driven by their basic instinct to survive and prosper. For this reason, even the towns and villages have started to develop the facilities as that of the cities. This rule or law is followed by each and every person and society in the world. Hence, there are other prospects similar to these that could be obtained from study of people in major cities.

The study of important feature of any human society is still in developmental phase and only studying some major populated area will not yield better result. All the major cities, as well as other parts of the world needs to be carefully examined to actually know how human have thrived well living in society for these long years.