GRE sample issue pool essay topic 128

Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Choosing the field of study is a difficult decision for any student, be it a high school elective or a graduation degree. This choice could be a lot easier if the educational institute counsel the student first about all the fields uninterestedly. The prompt suggests that the institutions should guide the students towards those fields that have profitable careers. However, I mostly disagree with the prompt for following three reasons.

First of all, the field of study entirely depend upon the capacity, caliber and passion of the student. If someone wants to be involved in those field which he or she excel at or has immense desire, then they should be counselled to that field no matter the future of that particular subject. If it makes the person happy, then they should be encouraged to that path. Money and other success will come automatically if the person continues their job with a happy mindset.

For instance, Leonardo Da Vinci's father schooled him to be a political person like himself. The school tried teaching him those subjects that could have made him a great politician as the job at the side of the king was considered to a dream by everyone. But he never excelled in that part. Instead, Leo chose painting and engineering as his life's ambition due to his utmost love for that field. Now, we all know what he was able to achieve. So, encouraging any student against their passion could not benefit no matter how lucrative the job is.

Furthermore, careers are always temporary. What is lucrative today might be all lost in the near future. The world is highly volatile. Those who choose any field of study on the basis of the profitability of a career, might regret due to the changing nature of the world. Let's take this as an instance. Few years back, Nuclear scientists were a lot popular. There was race to become a nuclear scientist all over the world. The job was demanding and the governments of many countries too were interested. But, after the nuclear mess happened in Chernobyl, the job has faded away and now those students are struggling. Nowadays software is popular and no one knows how long will it be on the trend. So, choosing any study field by looking at the job prospect should not be encouraged most of the time.

However, there are a lot of students as well who are unsure about their desire. There are those who want to establish themselves financially in the world at any cost. For these students, the counselling of the educational institutions towards fruitful career path is definitely beneficial. For instance, Bollywood actor Akshay Kumar thought he wanted to be a martial artist. But he also wanted to earn a lot of money. He had no idea, no desire and no knowledge of acting whatsoever. But, the school where he studied, encouraged him to choose the field as it was ever growing and the respect he could get would be lifetime. He got tempted by this and choose acting as his major in his college. And now, he is one of the successful and highly paid actors all across the world. So, encouraging students to go towards the path of successful careers can be helpful too in many places.

This choice differs from person to person and cannot be generalized to all people by looking at some few cases. However, Educational institutes should first encourage students to choose their field of study according to their passion and then move towards the lucrative career.