The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

In the preceding statement, the author claims that the illegal immigrants should be deported to their country of origin because of the dangers they pose the autonomy of the country by citing that border strength is vital to the country's autonomy. Although at first glance, the argument seems to have merit, but scrupulous evaluation of the evidences clearly shows the poor premises and grounds on which the conclusion is based. The author needs to provide further explanations in order to bridge the gap between the evidence and the conclusion.

The initial problem with the argument is the possible flaws in the idea that the autonomy of any country depends on their border's strength. The author provides no further evidence for this statement that could substantiate the conclusion's reliability. There are many factors that can affect the country's independence. If the country's defense strategy is so strong that no other government could attack their sovereignty, then the border problem would not create much problem. We can take the example of the countries in Europe. European countries have their individual borders to just mark their territory and any person living within Europe can move around the whole continent. Their autonomy is still intact. No people crossing the border have threatened their way to implement any policy or run the government. Instead, it has created mutual understanding among everyone and every country is thriving together without interfering with one another. Unless the author accounts for elucidation on the statement, the argument will undermine itself.

Moreover, the inadmissible assertion that the illegal immigrants endanger the national identity and economy brings the argument more downwards. I concede that illegal immigrants can hoard the jobs available to the natives and the unemployment within the country's citizen might increase a little. But it does not necessarily mean that it will create a huge turbulence in the economy. If the country's economy is dependent on the industries and the exports it does from those industries, then the arrival of immigrants will not bring any issue. Instead, the economy might even thrive. Generally, the immigrants will need jobs to survive and might agree to work in lesser money and the industries might hire even more workers to do more jobs and the exports most probably would increase. Furthermore, how does illegal immigrants threaten national identity of a country? If the country has strict policy of passing some big enough criteria such as birth on the same soil or relation with the country people to get the identity of the country, then I see no threat to the nation. So, if the country's economy depends on mentioned factors and it has strict policies for foreigners, then the argument is likely to fail.

Finally, the author suggests that every effort made to return the immigrants back to their country will reduce the risk. If the country is already suffering from failing government and the policies of the country are not appropriate to protect from foreign intervention, then deporting the immigrants will not solve the problem. In such case, it is highly probable that the government is hiding its inability to function by putting the blame on the illegal immigrants entering the country. If such is the case then, the conclusion of the argument is fallible.

Although the argument contains unexplained premises and baseless reasonings, it is not to say that entire case is inadmissible. So, to sum up, if the author agrees to fix up the flaws and provide more explanations for the argument, then it could be considered for further investigation.