The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the manager of the television station, the local businesses have withdrawn their advertisement from the channel because the tv has reduced the time for broadcasting the local news and due to this, they have lost advertising revenues.

However, the reason for cancellation of advertisement by local businesses might not be the decreased local news time. May be the quality of their advertisement and local news were not good enough that the businesses felt no growth in their customers. The local news would have been of low quality that the viewers were not attracted to the products the businesses were offering. The manager only speaks that the businesses were cancelling their contracts but does not specify that the reason is due to the decreased duration.

Also, The complaints of the viewers might not be for the coverage time of the local news and weather, but for the quality of the news. The viewers might be satisfied of the duration but not of the quality. We cannot be sure that increasing the local news time is going to attract more viewers. This case can even worsen the situation because coverage of lower quality news for longer duration can actually make them lose more viewers and revenues could go further down.

Further, the manager has mentioned about just the complaints and we do not know for sure that the viewers reduced because of this. May be the viewers were only complaining regarding specific parts of the news or some of the content they were broadcasting could have been offensive to the local people. Also, we do not know whether the tv had more viewers in the past when the local news coverage was more than present. It might have been same from the past and we have no certainty that the increase in the duration would guarantee the increase in viewers in the future.

So, the argument is weak as the manager does not clearly talks about what the complaint are and whether the reduced duration has actually caused them to lose the viewers which in real, might have remain the same through out and does not guarantee for the attraction of new viewers and increase in advertisement revenue.