GRE sample issue pool essay topic 54

Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author asserts that most of the inventions that brings significant changes are accidental and we find solution to one question while trying to solve another. I agree that many discoveries that we are enjoying now were result of anomalous findings of our efforts to decipher different puzzle. The prompt is indeed valid for many cases; however, to conclude that most findings are by chance is to undermine the talents and efforts of those involved continuously to solve the problems.

To begin, I concede that many important results are unintentional. The universe is a huge box of mysteries: when we try to open it, there is the possibility that we could get additional elements along with the one we were looking for and sometimes we get entirely different matter than we expected. To take an instance, the confirmation of famous theory of relativity came by chance when Einstein was trying to figure out mass-energy relationship. When Einstein noticed that his perception of mass varied to someone sitting next to him, the idea struck him which led to the discovery of relativistic mechanics. Furthermore, the discovery of diamond mines in Africa while searching for gold, the accidental detection of Pluto while studying the Saturn through telescope might be some of the examples to reference for the author's assertion.

Moreover, it is advantageous as well to decipher another side of any riddle while trying to find something else. We can get different perception to the question and different sets of applications could be analyzed along with the originally intended answer. If we get both sets of creations or even more while trying to find one thing, then the universe will indeed be in debt.

However, to emphasize that the discoveries are merely the result of accident is to weaken the continuous efforts and intellect of the individuals trying to figure out the solution. Some theory takes years to be proved, some discoveries are miles away from being detected. Still the people involved provide their tireless efforts to find the solution. Most of the findings that are unintentional are still close to the one the person intended originally. The mass-energy relation, which Einstein originally wanted to figure out is the base for theory of relativity which is the accidental. To say relativity is accidental findings is to challenge Einstein's whole life's achievement. Furthermore, there are so many inventions that are not accidental. The discovery of Enigma machine by Alan Turing, the creation of Iphone, the recent development of reusable rocket by Elon Musk is his persistent effort to the field and all these findings are equally important to the world as are the accidental ones.

To sum up, the author is right that many discoveries are accidental and unintentional. These discoveries have redefined the world as well. However, many other originally intended inventions have had the same impact as the accidental ones and are not far from the one found unknowingly. Further, it is not fair to the individuals providing their entire devotion to the cause to say that their findings have deviated and are not what they intend to look for.