The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The author claims that the optimal way to prepare young people for leadership is by promoting the sense of cooperation in them, not competition. I agree to the prompt for the most part as the most important quality in a leader is to encourage their counterparts as well as subordinates for growing together in a commensurate way. However, I believe a sense of healthy competition in any field can boost the effectiveness of the people and the sector as a whole.

To begin, I fully concede to the part that instilling the sense of cooperation in the youths can make them a better leader in any fields. In the ever-growing world, progess can be seen in every sectors. Every sector has a leading figure whose objective is to obtain best for his company, or in the case of government, his country. Hence, the race is never going to cease and there is only a limit one can achieve by competiting with each other. So, the best way can now only be cooperating with the "rivals" and growing together. To give an instance, Pathao Nepal started food delivery recently. There were already other established logistics such as Foodmandu and Bhoj providing exceptional service, the chance of Pathao to come to the top by competition was minimal. However, the three rival companies decide to promote one another in their events and now all three are thriving equally. Many such examples exist in the leading governments of the world as well who are all working together and developing. So, if the young people are provided the idea of cooperation from early age, or even when they are adult, then they can definitely improve the quality of leadership.

Moreover, agressive competition among the parties can elicit hatred towards one another and the growth of both person could be halted. As an instance, the competition between India and Pakistan to grow as the most powerful between two has become so high that terror attacks between those countries have started blaming each other. Even in the field of sports and journalism the competition has run riot and both the countries are not able to achieve much properly. So, encouraging cooperation instead of such radical competition can surely help to built better leaders.

However, it is not always the case that improvement with only occur by cooperation and eliminating competition can help them progress further. Healthy competition in every sector is always beneficial. A child, if does not have anyone to compete in school will grow complacent. Any industry in the world, if does not have any rival to match their product will start monopoly in the business. If we take the instance of the government, the long living competition between USA and Russia to become the most powerful nation has provided us with latest inventions, technologies and unimaginable feat from both the nations. If the competition is cordial, without any feeling of hostility and aversion, and is just for growing, then such relation is always necessary as the characteristic of the future leaders and we should move towards providing such notions to the youths.

To sum it up, the author's intention to fill young people with cooperation to make them better leader is totally justified. However, if friendly competition as a feeling to thrive in the world is not instilled in the youths, then they could hinder their own progress towards success. Hence, balance in both is necessary.