The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying line 5 10 cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

In the study of Dr. Field, through the observation method, he stated that the children in Tertia were raised by the communal efforts of the entire village rather than biological parents. However, Dr. Karp, through his interview centered method, believed the former statement was inaccurate. There are many assumptions were made by Dr. Karp in the effort to refute Dr. Field's conclusion.

First, the interviews made by Dr. Karp's team indicate a high return on the topics regarding their biological parents by the children in Tertia. We cannot assume this with the important role of their parents in their upbringing. The topics of what the children talking about their parents were not disclosed in the research. They can talk about anything and it would mean totally different things whether negative or positive effects of their parents in their lives. If the children keep mentioning that they really miss their mother and father because they rarely meet them, it would weaken the conclusion made by Dr. Karp. Therefore, the topics made by the children would decide which role their parents play in their development.

Secondly, the sample pool o the interview over the population of children in Tertia will define how trustworthy Dr. Karp's research would be. If he only managed to interview 20-100 children over more than a thousand in Tertia, the sample pool is too small to make any solid statement. If only 1 percent of the children say that their parents always take care of them, we cannot generalize for the rest of the population in Tertia that other children experience the same thing. Therefore, we need to know how many interviews were made in Dr. Karp's studies to support his statement.

Additionally, the he difference between the current situation versus the situation of twenty years ago would drastically weaken the statement made by Dr. Karp. For example, twenty year ago when Dr. Field made the research, a lot of the young parents could not find a jobs in Tertia so they need to seek for employment in other places, this would cause the children to left behind with their grand parents and other close relatives. However, Tertia now has become a more developed place which attracts more businesses to set their offices here. As a result, there are more jobs available to people to choose from and they do not need to leave their hometowns. Therefore, children in Tertia today can stay with their biological parents. The era difference would probably the main factors to disqualify Dr. Karp's conclusion in order to invalidate Dr. Field's study.

In short, there are many flaws in the assumption from the article by Dr. Karp that would need more clarifications to disqualify the study of Dr. Field's about the role of the biological parents on the children in Tertia.