News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would be better if more good news was reported?

It is true that bad news coverage has become pervasive on all different platforms of media. There are many reasons why people decide to feature these negative information, and it would probably have some positive effects if, in replacement of those bad news, good news gets covered more.

In fact, negative contents tend to receive more central spotlights due to many factors. First of all, delivering bad news often have pernicious impacts on people's emotion including anxiety and depression. If people feel depressed and threatened, they would become more vulnerable and easy to get influenced. Media are thus used as a tool to manipulate people's perspective and guide them in a certain direction that news editors wanted. Besides, shocking news often grasps more attention than mundane information. This would potentially generate better profits from concomitant advertisements featuring during the coverage. Therefore, with this immense benefits, news editors are more inclined to feature bad news.

On top of that, since the frequency of bad news has been significantly accelerated, people are getting immune to the news. This would have numerous drawbacks to human society due to the subsequent byproduct of indifference and ignorance. when people are getting accustomed to the news of Syria's war where bombing and people killed are considered normal, it would belittle human values and drastically turn into such depravity. However, if there is an increased number of good news coverage, it would offer people with several perks. The positiveness from news would restore the hope in humanity and people's belief in a better world. For example, featuring a scientist who has recently discovered the medicine to cure HIV or just simply a kid who extends his hands to help people under poverty would resonate within the community with optimism and positivity.

In conclusion, while many news editors decide to feature negative information on newspapers and televisions because of several reasons, I would argue that with the enhanced coverage of good news, human society would gain more positive effects.