The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the article the author ,Dr. Karp, states that the observation based approach of

studying cultures is invalid and the interview based approach is will establish much

more accurate understanding of child-bearing traditions in island cultures.

Dr. Karp comes to this conclusion based on the fact that in the recent interviews

conducted by him with children living in the group islands that include Tertia ,

children spend much more time talking bout thier biological parents than about

other adults in the village. However, the author makes the following three assumptions

First of all, the author assumes that the culture of tertia has not changed in the 20 years

since Dr. Field visited tertia. Perhaps the people of tertia have started to engage more in

rearing their own children and less in children of others.If this scenario has merit,

the argument will render invalid.