The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe. A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the application, a group of developers state that a jazz club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. To support this conclusion they argue that

the proposed jazz club would have the local market all for itself since the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away. They state that over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz nightly', also several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe. Finally, to further emphasize the stance, they state a nationwide study indicating that the typical jazz fan spends close to$1,000 per year on jazz entertainment. However, three pieces of evidence need to be presented in order to evaluate this argument.

The first piece of evidence that needs to be presented is the number of tourists that attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last year. If the majority of people who attended the festival were tourists, then the conclusion drawn from the argument has no merit.

The second piece of evidence that needs to be presented is whether the people of Monroe would venture out of their homes specifically to listen to jazz or they would prefer to listen to jazz in the comforts of their homes. If they would not prefer to venture out of their homes specifically to listen to jazz, the argument will not hold any water

The third piece of evidence that needs to be presented is per capita income of Monroe. If the per capita income is low, then the developer's conclusion renders fallacious.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands is heavily flawed since it relies on several unwarranted assumptions. If the developers are able to present the three pieces of evidence stated above, then the argument can be evaluated