The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument above is well-presented and appears to be relatively sound at first glance.Dr. Karp, states that the in the recent interviews

conducted by him with children living in the group islands that include Tertia and other islands, children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about

other adults of the islands. Because of this, he conlcudes that the Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the

observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well.

First of all, the culture of tertia might have changed in the last 20 years. The people of Tertian might have realised that rearing children on their own is more beneficial than

letting other people to contribute to it. Also people of tertia might be more involved in their professional lives than they were twenty years ago due to which they are not able to

give time to children other than theirs.

In addition the argument fails to clarify the type of questions asked in the interview. Maybe the questions asked in the interview were pertinent to the aspects of life of

the children which were dealt by their bilogical parents and not by other adults. For example, the child's education was taken care by the other adults

while the physical and mental health by the biological parents.

The number of children interviewed might not be enough of a sample space to draw a conclusion on the whole population. The parents of the children interviewed might have preferred to

take care of the their children on their own rather than depending on other people. The argument fails to address this issue which has weakened it significantly