The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and

concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village

rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children

living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more

time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This

research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid

and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The

interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will

establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other

island cultures

The argument about the studying the culture via observation-centered approach versus studying that via interview-based approach, while might be true in some cases, fails to give enough evidences for its consideration. the argument assumes following facts that may not be true always.

First, the argument assumes that, children talking more about their biological parents in interview meant, they were being raised only by their biological parents and not by the whole village. This claim is unwarranted as there might be the cases where children talk more about their parents because they spend more time with their parents, or some biological parents might be more influential. Even after this, there might be an important part played by other villagers in the rendering of the children.

Besides this, the argument also assumes that a group of children interviewed from all the islands may accurately represent the on-ground reality of the culture in Tertia. This might not be true always as the children were interviewed from the group of islands having possibly different cultures and the prevalent culture in few of the other islands of the group may misrepresent the culture in Tertia specifically. Moreover, the age group of interviewed children is not mentioned. There might be a possibility where, the children are initially raised by their biological parents but are later rendered by whole village.

Finally, the argument also states that the overall observation centered research technique is inefficient without mentioning any details about Dr. Karp's research. It might be possible that the observations done by Dr. Karp were very specific and done on one community of Tertia and then extrapolated. There might be a chance that Dr. Karp's research findings could be flawed but this does not call for the claim that observation-based research method in inaccurate.

to sum up, the argument presents some unwarranted assumptions and lacks some rigid evidence to base its argument upon. More in-depth research results and details about the interviewees could have helped to arrive at the mentioned conclusion.