Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country

As said, Mr. Gandhi would not have become Mahatma Gandhi, had he not visited South Africa to study law. It is always helpful for students to learn about cultures and practices of foreign countries and make use better resources available in other parts of the world for their learning.

Visiting a foreign country to attend a semester could enable students to gather diverse cultural information along with learning the specific subject for which they go to the foreign country. The students get to know about ways of working in other parts of the world and can help them in improving how they learn or work back at home. For example, an Indian student attending a college semester in an Australian university might learn about how important is sports for a student attending college. Learning about such diverse practices followed in different parts of the world would help a student in their holistic development.

Apart from enhanced exposure to the better practices around the world, the student learns to live and work along with people from altogether different culture. This particularly can help the student in developing a trait to work outside their comfort zone and develop them to cordially work with people coming from diverse backgrounds, a tact which helps the most while working in an organization.

Besides this, students can also get an exposure to better educational infrastructure of foreign countries. For example, an Indian student visiting some American university for a semester can be benefited by some of the best-in-class university infrastructures, which they rarely find in a developing country like India. The students can get access to better learning resources, better libraries or better research families, which enables a student to learn more effectively than learning at the home university. This can also help universities to set up students exchange programs with the agenda of exchanging students of specific expertise to exploit resources available at the other university as well as spread subject related expert knowledge to the other students of the university.

However, some might challenge this by saying that such schemes can surmount to heavy tuition fees taken by the college and extended duration of the course. This extra cost can very well be offset by the amount of developmental advantages such schemes give to the students. Besides, government can come up with some funds to sponsor such programs where they can use resources from other countries and not spending more money on developing those resources.

In conclusion, Universities mandating students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country would help in students development in numerous ways.