Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the wellbeing

of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that

the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to

make as much money as possible

In the context of present-day world, where people and organizations are thriving towards a more sustainable world, the perception that a company's responsibility is to only make profits and that social welfare and caring about environment can be peripheral is too narrow.

Nowadays, the awareness about the socio-environmental concerns arising from an organisation's operation has increased. It is a well-accepted norm in today's world that the social and environmental concerns should be of prime importance to an organization. Majority of the organisations in today's world are moving towards more sustainable operations where a greater emphasis is placed on the environmental and social impact of the company and how it can thrive to make people's lives better. Therefore, having a narrow outlook, where a company thinks only about its profits would almost certainly prove to be counterproductive for the organization, even more when their competitors are moving towards more sustainable operations. This is because the consumer is well aware nowadays about a company's goals and would be reluctant to buy or invest in a company having such a narrow outlook which would ultimately hit their prime target of achieving higher profits.

Moreover, people's health and safety should be a paramount to any organisation aiming for sustainable growth. The healthier their employees and people around are, the more potential company unlocks for its growth. No organisation can grow by neglecting basic issue like healthcare, safety and quality. For example, since its inception the primary aim of TATA conglomerate has been safety and control on their environmental impact. These values have helped this organisation in becoming such a giant in today’s world. People would always prefer buying products or services from an organisation who painstakingly takes initiatives for socio-environmental betterment of its surroundings, consequently, this would ultimately lead to higher profits which is the goal for each organisation’s existence.

While it may seem lucrative to concentrate on earning more profits and ignoring other important social and environmental impacts, on the long term, this will only lead to the organisation's downfall. For sustainable growth of an organisation, it needs to establish such values in its operations. These values, along with helping people, ultimately helps the organisations in growing and sustaining that growth for longer time periods. In conclusion, it can be stated that, an organisation CANNOT grow by neglecting its duties of social welfare and environmental care. More focus on these values would eventually lead to more profitable and sustainable growth of the organisation.