Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying

Attending university is a period of self-discovery and enrichment – both academically and socially – for most students. Although students may change their intended career paths and waver between majors during this time, universities should encourage students to take courses in the fields of study that students choose themselves. By allowing students to take the courses they wish to take, students will be able to avoid low grades, hone in on the fields they are most interested in, and help indecisive students search for their best career paths.

Often times, the requirements that a university places on its students include a wide range of courses that are not necessarily essential to a student’s learning or intended career. Although schools intend to help students grasp a general understanding of all subjects, such general requirements may actually hinder students from achieving academic success by lowering their GPAs. If a student knows she is particularly interested and strong in literature, a required course in mathematics or the sciences may actually adversely impact her academic plans. The student would be subject to taking a class in a course she is weak in and might harm her chances of getting into a competitive literature program due to her low overall grades. If the student were allowed to take only the courses she chose, she would be able to pick courses she know she can perform her best in to reflect the true nature of her knowledge.

In addition to avoiding unnecessarily lower grades due to difficult courses, students would be able to focus on the fields in which they are interested in and will continue to pursue into the future. Some students attend university with a very specific plan in mind. For example, a student who desires to pursue a profession in electrical engineering will specifically choose to attend a university that has a strong engineering program. For these students, the university should allow such students to choose their own coursework. By avoiding general requirements enforced by the school, students can hone in on developing their particular skills and save time and money in the end. If an engineering student was required to take multiple courses in the humanities and arts, such coursework would retract from the student’s overall academic and career plans.

Although some students may have their career paths blueprinted in mind before entering university, most students will use their time in college to discover what careers best fit their skills. For undecided students, the university should require the students to take courses in fields that they choose, based on initial interests and simply out of curiosity. Even indecisive students can find the most fitting career paths by exploring fields of interest. If the students were forced to take basic classes to fill university credits, they would not be able to enjoy their coursework and find a field that can be translated into a future profession. Since university is indeed a time of experience and discovery, students may perform poorly in some classes and excel in others. This process of allowing students to choose their own courses would allow them to naturally find their career paths without the pressure and stress associated with pursuing a career that one does not enjoy.

As students enjoy their time in school by taking the courses they excel in and actually have an interest in, the students will be more inclined to give back to the university in the future. If students have favorable memories of their time in college, they may be more inclined to donate or pay tribute to their alma mater schools. Students who are forced to take classes that they do not enjoy and receive low grades in are less likely to hold their respective schools in high esteem. Thus, after graduation, students will not be inclined to contribute to the school in the future. If the university gives students a relatively stress-free and effective academic experience by allowing students to choose their own courses, the university can benefit from the future contributions of their loyal students.

Universities will find it within their best interest to require students to take courses only within the fields that students choose for themselves. The students will be able to have higher grades, focus on their careers, or discover new careers along the way