The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The article written by Dr.Karp states that the conclusion regarding the raising of children in Tertia

was not done by their biological parents,but rather by the entire village drawn from the observation-centred method of evaluation

carried out by Dr.Field is entirely invalid.He states his interaction with the children as an evidence stating

that since the children spent most of their time talking about their biological

parents that about the other adults,Dr.Fields conclusion is false.He also states that his interview-centred approach

would be more accurate in understanding the child rearing traditions rather than that of Dr.Field.But,Dr.Karps conclusion can be considered

valid only after validating the assumptions that Dr.Karps has made.

It has been mentioned in the article clearly that Dr.Karp has made interviews of many children living in a group of islands

which also included Tertia.But,it is not mentioned about the exact number of children who belongs to Tertia has been interviewd?We might

come to a conclusion only after knowing the exact proportion of Tertain children interviewed by him and by Dr.Field.There might also

be a case where say Dr.Karp might have interviwed 100 children out of which only 10 children belong to the Tertian Island.In such a case,the

conclusions made by Dr.Karp would hold no water.

Secondly,he also states that since he found the children talking more about their biological parents,

he came to a conclusion that they are not raised by the other adults of their village.We also cannot jump into the conclusion directly

because there might be a situation where the children are more home-sick and they speak more about their biological parents.There is also

a possibility where they are raised only by the other adults in the village and since they donot have a biological parents around,

they miss them very badly due to which they take their name in almost every sentence of theirs.

Thirdly,there is no proof that the theory of Dr.Field and Dr.Karp are comparable.The theory of Dr.Field has been stated twenty years ago before that of

Dr.Karp. We cannot assume that the same condition which prevailed twenty years ago when Dr.Field conducted the experiment prevails till date.Since they are not conducting

the experiment as the same time frame and the metrices and standards used by both of these anthropologists are not clearly mentioned,jumping into

a conclusion would be too extreme.

Thus,inorder to prove that the interview-based approach by Dr. Karp is the most accurate method,one must know about the exact proportion of tertian children.We must

also make sure that the children are no homesick due to missing of their biological parents,must also be aware of the metrics used by Dr.Field to evaluate the prompt.