The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The recommendation by the Calatatrava committee states that since the birthrate of the city is reducing,the funds for the education and recreation activities could be reduced, thereby making sufficient money to fund city facilities for adult.The statement has been supported by two arguments by the author that, one being the number of students enrolling in public schools would be reducing and hence budgeting for education would be less.The other supporting argument is by reducing funding for athletic fields and recreation,money could be saved for city facilities and programs.However,to prove the recommendation to hold good, a series of evidences are required in support to the argument.

It has been clearly stated in the recommendation that they are planning to invest money on city facilities and programs since the adult population is likely to increase. How is it possibble for a city to have high adult population growth in the upcoming years where the birth rate is itself decreasing?Consider that the city has only 50 new borns that year.It is thus true that only new borns tend to become adults and only 50 new adults will be there.

So by what means or source can one assume that the adult population will increase.Thus,proper evidence is not available to prove that the number of adults would increase.

Secondly,it has been stated that since the birthrate is declining,the number of students in public school would be reducing.This could be true provided that there should be no more enrollment of students from other cities.There is a possibility where a couple of families from some other city move to the city of calatrava due to change in work location or some other factors.If they have children,then there is a possibility that they might put their kids in the public school.In such a case,reducing the budget might cause a problem.It is not clearly stated in the prompt about the admittance ratio of students from other cities.

Thirdly,it has been stated that on reducing athletic play fields,the fund could be redirected.What if the athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities are used by the adults as well.There might be some adults who use the play fields on weekends to play soccer and hockey.In that case, reducing funding on recreational facilities would serve no good.

Thus in order to make the prompt valid,proper evidences should be provided for the increase in adult population despite the birth rate control.There should also specifications regarding the intake of students from other cities who come for study and proper instances to prove that the recreational fields are used only by the children and not by the adults.On evaluation of all the above factors,the validity of the recommendation can be examined.