“The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In his article, Dr. Karp claims that, the interview-centred approach, that his team uses, is better than the observation-centred approach to studying cultures. This claim is based on the premise, that the study carried out by another anthropologist, Dr. Field in the island of Tertia, reported findings that Dr. Karp’s study found fallacious. Dr. Karp, in his research, interviewed children living in Tertia now, who talk mostly about their biological parents that according to Dr. Karp is an indicator of that they are not reared by the entire village and is opposite to what Dr. Field had observed twenty years ago. Dr. Karp’s claim, as it stands now, is based on various assumptions, and unless more evidence can be obtained, bolstering his claims, a recommendation cannot be made.

Firstly, we need evidence, that proves, that the child rearing practices in Tertia have not changed in the last twenty years or in other words, we need substantial proof that the way children are raised now, is a good representative of how children were raised twenty years ago. For instance, it is possible that, when Dr. Field visited Tertia twenty years ago, it was widespread practice of rearing children, that were not yours, and the whole village was like a family. The reason could possibly be, say, because all the village folk practiced farming with each other and hence, all the kids were just raised by the women of the family together or it is plausible that there was a war back then and most parents were busy fighting in the war, and that is why the children were taken care by other people of the village. If either of these scenarios is true, Dr. Karp’s claim that Dr. Field’s study yielded fallacious results is not true, nor does it prove that his approach of research is inferior.

The next evidence we need is whether conclusion based on one study can be applied to other studies, in different fields. Let us assume for the sake of argument, that there are no significant differences in Tertia now or twenty years ago, and Dr. Field’s claims were indeed false. But just because one study yielded poor results does not mean, the entire approach of observation-centric research is wrong. We need proof, as series of reserach, where this same technique was used and all of them led to subpar results.

Lastly, we need evidence of how an interview-based approach is superior to the observation-based approach, what other studies Dr. Karp has conducted using the same approach that have yielded great results. Also, it is plausible, that his team of grad students, is being untruthful about the fact that they conducted these surveys, for all we know, they fudged the interviews just to prove Dr. Field’s study as wrong. Also, just because children talk more about their parents, that is not a good enough indicator that they are exclusively raised by them. If any of these were true, the recommendation holds no water. And unless we have substantial proof that Dr. Karp’s method is tried and tested, and his interviews were scrupulously conducted, and the children talk only about people who raise them, no conclusions can be drawn.

Hence, to sum up, as of now, Dr. Karp’s article relies of several unwarranted assumptions, and until and unless, we receive supporting evidence of his various claims, his recommendation cannot be deemed as true.