The following appeared in a newsletter published by the Appleton school district.

"In a recent study more than 5,000 adolescents were asked how often they ate meals with their families. Almost 30 percent of the teens said they ate at least seven meals per week with their families. Furthermore, according to the same survey, teens who reported having the most family meals per week were also the ones least likely to have tried illegal drugs, tobacco, and alcohol. Family meals were also associated with lower rates of problems such as low grades in school, low self-esteem, and depression. We therefore recommend that families have as many meals together as possible. We predict that doing so will greatly benefit adolescents and turn troubled teens away from bad behaviors."

Write a response in which you discuss which questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the newsletter publication, the author recommends families of adolescents to eat their meals together, in order to turn troubled teens away from bad behaviors. The author reached this conclusion based on a study, where 30% of over 5000 adolescents claimed that they eat meals with their families, and these teens were observed to be less likely to try drugs and alcohol.The author also extrapolates from the conclusions of this study, that these teens are also less likely to have low grades in school, low self esteem and depression. While the author suggestion appears sound, it relies on several unwarranted assumptions. In order to reach a conclusion, three questions must be answered.

Firstly, can results from a study, in Appleton School district, be applied to other districts/ states? Or in other words, are all regions homogenous, so as the observations from one district can be assumed to also lead to same conclusions in other places? It is possible that Appleton District is a very religious district and hence, most teenages, irrespective of wether they eat meals with their families, are less likely to try drugs and alcohol. Also, it is possible that, this same district has relatively easier school curriculum and hence less students suffer from anxiety, and get better scores. If any of the above is true, then the author’s recommendation that eating meals with family will lead to less depression and better school grades, does not stand water.

Secondly, how do we know that the teenagers did not lie on the survey? It is possible that the kids were scared of their teachers and parents, and hence lied about not having tried drugs or alcohol. Unless an actual medical examination suggets lack of drugs and alcohol in one’s system, it is not prudent to believe everything that one says. Also, the survey results focus more on the students who eat a meal with their parents, than the ones who do not. What percentage of adolescents who do not eat with their families, have good grades in school and do not engage in drugs/ alcohol consumption? We need answers to that as well. Unless, a full 360 degree view of this survey is provided, it would not be smart to derive a conclusion.

Lastly, is it possible that the advantages that the author has listed are actually a result of some other factors, and do not have much to do with merely eating meals with the family? Consider the example, of a teenager, who lives with his single parent, and his parent works two jobs to put food on a table, for this child, eating a meal with his parent is not possible, but the reasons he is not able to score well in exams, is not because he is not eating a meal with his parent, but because of other personal/financial issues. Or, consider the case of another student, he works part-time jobs to assist his family financially and thus cannot make time to eat meals with his family, his anxiety and low grades are due to financial reasons and has nothing to do with his family’s eating habits. Hence, in order to substantiate his claim, the author must find out more background information of the teenagers questioned, and understand wether an alternate underlying relationship exists that relates to dwindling grades and poor performance at school.

In conclusion, the author’s claim relies on several unjustified assumptions and in order to reach to a solution, the above questions must be answered.