The following appeared in the editorial section of a local newspaper:

“In the first four years that Montoya has served as mayor of the city of San Perdito, the population has decreased and

the unemployment rate has increased. Two businesses have closed for each new business that has opened. Under

Varro, who served as mayor for four years before Montoya, the unemployment rate decreased and the population

increased. Clearly, the residents of San Perdito would be best served if they voted Montoya out of office and

reelected Varro.”

Discuss how well reasoned . . . etc.

According the editorial section of the local newspaper, residents of San Perdito would be best served if they vote Montoya out of office and reelect Varro. Author's reason is based on the fact that unemployment rate decreased in spite of the population increase during the Varro tenure as mayor. Author is also stating that, during Montoya tenure, two businesses have closed for each new business and unemployment rate has increased during his tenure. In this line of reasoning, author fails to take into account various factors such as current economic condition, closure of factories due to technological advancement, etc. Hence, author needs to consider all these factors to affirm the conclusion.

First of all, current economic factors such as recession can be the sole reason for this observed phenomenon. Increased unemployment rate during Montoya tenure can be because of current geopolitical conditions such as recession which is affecting the overall unemployment rate and closure of businesses. In this case, Montoya's policies are not responsible for the observed economic conditions. Hence, just finding a correlation between unemployment rate and blaming that on Montoya is not a valid statement. Author needs to ascertain all the other factors to substantiate the stated claim.

Secondly, technologies are changing very fast, old factories are becoming irrelevant with advent of new technologies and automation. Closure of businesses during Montoya tenure can be due to above reasons, not because of Montoya policies. So reelecting Varro might not be helpful. Also, it might be the case that Montoya policies are responsible for opening of new businesses. His policies are helping to open new businesses and are controlling the increase in unemployment rate. Hence, author should also validate why businesses are getting closed and why new businesses are opening.

Also, closure of San Perdito businesses can be due to trade war with some other country. San Perdito economy might be export orientated and because of trade war with some other country, now businesses are not able to export and hence are getting closed. Because of this reason, people are migrating to different places to find new opportunities. So, reelecting Varro will not change anything.

Hence, there are multitude of factors that affect the current economic conditions, unemployment rates, closure of businesses, etc. Author needs to find the reason for increasing unemployment rate and closure of businesses to warrant his or her claim that residents of San Perdito would be best served if they reelect Varro.