The following appeared in the editorial section of a local newspaper:

"In the first four years that Montoya has served as mayor of the city of San Perdito, the population has decreased and the unemployment rate has increased. Two businesses have closed for each new business that has opened. Under Varro, who served as mayor for four years before Montoya, the unemployment rate decreased and the population increased. Clearly, the residents of San Perdito would be best served if they voted Montoya out of office and reelected Varro."

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

The argument claims that the residents of San Pedito would be better served if they vote the current mayor Montoya out of office and reelect the former mayor. The evidence cited to support this conclusion is that the unemployment rate has increased and the population has decreased during the first four years of Montoya’s ruling. To further support the argument, the author also stated that the situation of unemployment and population was reversed when Varro served as mayor. However, I think that this argument is not convincing, the reasons are as following:

First of all, the author readily assumes that the current mayor's governing is the main cause of decreasing population and increasing unemployment rate. There’re some other factors that should be taken into consideration. For example, the economic recession might have occurred in the past four years so that it seriously impacted the local business in San Pedito. Also, it could be possible that a natural disaster has happened, such as flooding and tornado, causing some mortalities and forcing residents to leave.

Moreover, the unemployment rate and population are not the only indicators of the mayor’s performance. More indicators should be involved to evaluate a mayor’s ability, such as the neighborhood security and education quality. The two mayors may have focused on different aspects while they are serving the residents. It’s unfair to compare the performance between those two person solely based on the unemployment rate and population.

Finally, the argument cites that two businesses have closed for each new business that has opened during the four years of Montoya serving as mayor and it readily considers that this is a bad sign for the city. However, this could be a good sign instead. Nowadays, with the newly developed technology and advanced management measure, the businesses are able to increase the efficiency in production and operation, so it's not surprising that one business could now achieve what two business could do before.

In sum, it would be prudent for the city of San perdito to replace the mayor based on the evidences provided. The conclusion would be more reasonable if the author could prove that eliminate the other factors causing the increased unemployment rate and decreased population, and evaluate the mayor’s performance with more indicators.