TPO-9:

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, it has been a hot topic on whether technology has done damages to people. Some people believe that technology has made children less creative than they were in the past, some people hold the opposite opinion. As far as I am concerned, I disagree that technology let children become less creative.

First of all, technology contributes to the improving quality of education in the society, thus providing children with more chance to develop their potential creativeness. For example, my young cousins are all very skillful at using computers because they started to learn computer course since they were at first grade of elementary school and my little brother even managed to use computer to compose Hiphop music by his own, without needing any traditional music class. This would not have happened if the technology didn't improve over the years. I still remember when I was at their age, I just started to learn how to type and send emails using the old fashioned big computers and never imagined I could other stuff using computers.

Moreover, technology provides children with more tools to broaden their horizon, thus making them more creative. The new technologies, such as 3D movies, AR helmet and automatic robot , are all good tools for children to explore the world and broaden their horizon. For example, with 3D movies and AR helmet, children can feel more real about the story in a movie so that they could develop better imagination. They can also cultivate their interest in automation designing and improve their creativeness by interacting with the robot.

Last but not least, technology provides children a more efficient channel to obtain a variety of knowledge, which is very important in developing their creativeness. For example, nowadays when a young kid find himself interested in coding, he can easily find the learning materials and tutorial video online because of the development of the internet. While a few decades ago, if a kid wanted to explore a new thing, he will find it very hard to get instruction without the internet and this will probably stopped him from learning new things.

All in all, I disagree that technology has made children less creative than they were in the past with the reasons stated above.