Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Undoubtedly, the advent of modern technology has influenced people’s life from different aspects dramatically so much so that many lives or livelihoods have depended on this great innovation. However, whether technology has influenced people’s lives positively or not is open to debate. In this case, many believe that it has had some negative impacts on people in general and on children in particular. With this in mind, as far as I am concerned, although technology plays an important role in people’s life, it has had some negative impacts on them, especially on children, and one of aspects to which technology has been detrimental is children’s creativity because of several reasons, two of which are as follows.

Obviously, the ability to solve a problem on one’s own accord and to deep understand are the very qualities being important in creativity . Today, quite a few problems or questions with which children deal, whether to do their homework or to answer a question coming to their minds, have already been answered thanks to the state-of-the-art technology, the Internet so that they usually lack their passion to solve their questions or problems by themselves, to look for information, and to analyze problems thoroughly or eagerly since, only with one click, in the blink of an eye, they can find their problems’ answers, deterring their minds from being curious, logical, and creative . When it comes to searching on the Internet, it can be beneficial to one’s knowledge by reading information and ideas helpful to solve a problem. However, as for children, the answers of most their questions have already excited on the Internet, they will learn how to answer their questions not by analyzing and thinking deeply but by following their answers mindlessly, causing their being “shallow-minded.”

It goes without saying that any ingenious innovation has not been invented unless someone sensed lack of it, and, as today technology has made life more convenient than it used to be, children sense no need to invent or create something novel, inhibiting them from thinking about invention. To illustrate my point, I would like to provide an example. Great scientist and inventor of the telephone, Alexander Graham Bell, living in a period in which absence of an easy way to contact people was drastically sensed, leading to innovate such significant invention, the telephone. Such other innovations as the television, computer, the Internet, to name but a few, all invented when there was a desperate need for creating them, and with the objective that it facilitated the life. Hence, the sensation of creativity will decrease in children now life is becoming more convenient by virtue of technology.

To sum up, as far as I am concerned, technology has prevented children from fostering their creativity because of making them too lazy to think about and analyze a problem carefully needed to solve it and making their life more convenient, causing them to lack their enthusiasm to invent new things. By taking all the pros and cons of technology into account, it is a matter of opinion as to whether it has been to the benefit of children as a whole or not.