Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed. Agree/disagree

In this highly competitive world, companies, by their very nature, are in a constant struggle to present their products to people, in an intriguing way, making them their potential customers. In this vein, some people are of the opinion that advertisements for children have to be forbidden, whereas, others believe otherwise. Personally, I have a penchant for banning advertising towards kids. The chief reasons to substantiate my viewpoint are elaborated upon hereunder.

First and foremost, advertising directed towards children is prone to have detrimental effects on their health. To illustrate, kids, in ages from two to five, are in the special stage of the cognitive learning ability which they are not sufficiently competent to make reasonable and rational decisions when it comes to crucial matters. To illustrate, they are not able to think about abstract ideas and will perceive only things that they directly see or touch. Accordingly, they cannot understand the following ramifications of their decisions. Furthermore, the first priority of all companies is to gain the maximum profit from selling their product, without considering any probable hazards that they could generate for their costumers particularly children. My personal experience is a convincing example in this regard. When I was a child, because I found all of the fancy colorful advertisements about food appealing, I always used to force my parents to buy me very sweet foods such as ice cream. As a result, it turned into a harmful habit for me which continued to my older ages contributing to putting me on the verge of diabetes. Had I not been exposed to misleading commercials, my health would not be in danger now.

Second, so far-reaching is the pernicious impact of child-directed commercials on the condition of the rest of the family especially parents that one cannot afford to treat it lightly. In this case, Poverty-stricken families are the most susceptible ones. Self-evidently, children from two to five have an overwhelming desire to want everything they find aesthetically attractive. If a parent fails to fulfill their children's wishes repeatedly, they will feel embarrassed and upset, which is a recipe for consequent depression and tragedies. Take the example of my neighbor as a clear illustration. They were from a very poor family and had a hard time surviving the vicissitudes of life. The father of the family always felt ashamed due to not affording to provide for his family. When his little son saw a bicycle advertisement, he wanted his father to purchase one for him. Owing to the inability of the father to provide his son's wishes and the cumulative effects of poverty, he decided to commit suicide. Unequivocally, advertising played a part in this tragedy.

To recapitulate, with all this taken into account, I have a dominant conviction that TV commercials directed into children must be banned, on the grounds that these commercials not only contribute to deteriorating kids' health condition but adversely affecting poor families as well.