The following appeared in the editorial section of a local newspaper:

“This past winter, 200 students from Waymarsh State College traveled to the state capitol

building to protest against proposed cuts in funding for various state college programs.

The other 12,000 Waymarsh students evidently weren’t so concerned about their

education: they either stayed on campus or left for winter break. Since the group who did

not protest is far more numerous, it is more representative of the state’s college students

than are the protesters. Therefore the state legislature need not heed the appeals of the

protesting students.”

Discuss how well reasoned . . . etc.

The argument that state legislature didn’t heed the appeals of students because only small of proportion of Waymarsh State College protested cuts in funding is not entirely logically convincing, because it ignores certain crucial assumptions.

Firstly, the argument assumes that 200 protesting students share only minority inside of collage but actually, cutting funds occurred for various programs which affecting these 200 protesters rather than all college students. For example, State cut funding of Arts students but it didn’t matter for physics students.

Secondly, the argument never addresses reasons that why other students didn’t prefer to join protest against state council. It is surely possible that they had no information about decreases in funds. That’s why they didn’t attend in there last winter.

Finally, the arguments omits detailed decision of State legislature that explaining both causes of drops in funds and rejection of appeals. Conclusion states that less representation of students in protest as cause for needing not heed the appeals but certainly, this alone couldn’t be only reason for cutting, because State legislature dropped funds for some reason that didn’t mentioned in Author assumption.

Thus, the argument is not completely sound. The evidence in support of conclusion, students could inform their friends and all other students in Waymarsh State Collage to join their protest which as sign of solidarity between students. Additionally, students could decide a date that works for most of students of college and weather situation is also necessary which heavy snow could be reason for small number of protesters.

Ultimately, the argument might have been weakened by written critics and flaws.