The following appeared as an editorial in the student newspaper of Groveton College.

“To combat the recently reported dramatic rise in cheating amongcollege students, colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton’s, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton’s honor code replaced an old-fashioned system in which teachers closely monitored students.

Under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. The honor code has proven far more successful: in the first year it was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating;

five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey conducted by the Groveton honor council,a majority of students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without.

“Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.”

The author suggests the school adopt honor code similar to Groveton’s in order to decrease cheating among students.However, readers need further proof to verify the argument offered by the author.

According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise.However, more information about the report is needed.We have to know the exact number of the cheating case.For example, it may be more students in the college and university in the recent year, and this may be the reason why the cheating is on the rise.The author should at least tell us what percentage of the students are cheatings, and it will help us obtain a comprehensive understanding.

The honor code calls for students t agree not to cheat and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated.The honor code is a moral regular system, and the author still need to proof there is no situation that students cover each other.For instance, students may pretend that they do not cheat ,because there is no teacher monitoring.Furthermore, students who are afraid of being bullied will chose not to speak out what they have noticed.

The argument accentuates that a majority of the students said that they would be less likely to cheat with the honor code than without.Sample survey should be able to represent all students .However, in the argument, we find no sign of such procedures for a random sample,and have good reasons to doubt if the sample is representative enough to reflect the general attitude of the students as a whole.Perhaps, the students who take the survey are good students, and they always focus on the test.

The author further indicates that cheating cases have dropped to 14 from 21 five years after the honor code was set in place.Here we need the figures between the first and fifth years.It is possible that the cheating numbers increase in the second year.In addition, we also need information about the trend of the enrollment duding the five years.If the total number of the students has dropped significantly during the past five years, then the number of cases will have surely decreased because of fewer students.The fact is not a sound evidence to draw a conclusion that the honor code reduce the cheating numbers.

To make the argument more convincing, the author would have to provide more information as above mentioned.