The following appeared in a health newsletter."A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that numbe

In this letter, the author tells us a study shows there are doubled number of bicycle related accidents today than ten years ago, which focus that the people who wear helmet increased from 35 to 80 percent during the ten years. So the author recommended that the government should educate the riders and not encourage them to wear helmets. But there are some loopholes in this letter and the reasoning for the recommendation is not well supported. We should evalutate them carefully.

To begin with, the study concentrated merely on the helmets wore by the riders without other significant issues. The author indicates during the ten years , the bicycle-related accidents are increasing as twice as it was. This obvious change may be not casued by the single reason that people feeling safe when thet are wearing helmets. There is a high possbility that the vehicles number is increasing in ten years, and the traffic accidents between the bikes and cars are often serious which means the helmets could not protect the riders well. So the author should find out what is the main cause of bicycle-related accidents.What's more, the road conditon is another impotant factors which could casuse the accidents as with more cars on the roads, the roads are more cramped than before, so the riders have to share the road with cars and even trucks, which more serious.

In addition, the development of bicylcles should also be taken into considerations.Firstly, the number of bicycle may increase at the same time as the cars, the possbility of bicycle-related accidents will increase with high possiblity. Secondly, the bicycle technology may also evovle in the ten years. Maybe people ride little bicycle with a low speed, due to the development of bikes especcially bicylce sports, there may be more and more bicycle fans who feel like riding mountain bikes or the road bikes which are much more faster than before. This could also increase the possiblity of the accidents. While the study does not tell us this essential change, it would be arbitrary to make the conclusion.

Finally, the author's recommendation is not well supported by the evidence. As we are discussing before, the author does not show convincing relevance to support his ideas that educate the riders and reduce the encouragements of wearing helmets. Even it is right to educate the people to ride bikes safely, we can not conclude the riders who lack of traffic rules will charge the doubled number of bicycle-related accidents. In that no evidence support this conclusion, all the people in the transportation should be cultivated carefully.

Likewise, with no convincing evidence show the unneccety of wearing the helmets , it is too hasty to let the riders not wear them by the government.

In conclusion, the author's recommendation is not well-supported by the evidence in that the reasons show no essential relavance to the conclsuion.