The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner."Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central

The steady decrease of shoppers is an immense issue for every business, and, of course, there should be a solution to the problem. But before finding a response to the problem, the possible reasons causing this particular situation should explicitly be stated.

First of all, an answer should be given to the following question- are skateboarders the main source of the decline of the clients? Even though skateboarders are supposed to have a bad influence on the store, according to the store owners, they can’t be regarded as the source of disorder in the store.

Maybe the decline of the shoppers is due to the poor marketing of the stores? Another suggestion of a possible cause is the severe competition. Along with week marketing the competition is a great cause of a decline in clients. So this is another question that should be considered- are the stores well prepared to resist the competition and appeal to the clients. The negative answer to this question means that the reason of decline in shoppers should be considered as not solely the assumed effect of skateboarders.

Another question to be considered is that if the skateboarders disturb the shoppers or make the paths more uncomfortable. If so, a solution should be proposed. It can be the ban on skateboarding, but I think some softer resolutions can be offered, such as special hours for skateboarding allowed.

Finally I would like to conclude, that the correlation between decline of the shoppers and increase in the number of skateboarders is not clearly stated, and therefore it can be misleading. So, before banning skateboarding, an analysis of the causes should be considered to understand the real effecting factor.