Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be

I disagree with the statement mentioned in the given passage, due to some arguments that I will expose in the following passages.

First of all, a question concerning the importance of scandals as means of spreading information should be asked. The problem here is that scandals are seen as a method for bringing in touchy topics to a wide public, as mentioned in the passage. But I quite disagree with this part, because a curios and prudent person, who is interested in the topic of the scandal, will always seek an opportunity to gain information about it. As I mentioned, scandals dispense the information throughout wide public, and from this point of view I cannot concede its importance. But is it as important and crucial as it is mentioned? I think that despite the ability of scandals of spreading information it has nothing to do with the importance of solving the problem since it will always be noticed by the target segment, those who give a great importance to the specific problem, and a proper solution will be given by them no matter the presence of a scandal.

There is another question referring to the precision of the information carried by a scandal. It can sometimes be misleading, because there are always two entities standing behind a scandal. It is not a secret that they can include wide range of interested parties and from this prospective it is crucial to understand the truth. The interest of two entities is lying under the reason of the problem. Everyone, as a matter of being involved in a scandal, tries to undermine the opponent’s position, thus leading the public to think in a favorable way for him. The problem of precise information refers to the mass media as well. To gain wide popularity among the readers, many representatives of mass media try to manipulate with the headings of the news. I have come across with this problem several times when I was surfing the Internet, and it is not only annoying but disturbing, leading me to think about the absence of regulatory policy in this field. So, when referring to this problem, it should be mentioned that a speaker or reformer, who is not an interested entity in the scandal, will give more precise and accurate information about the problem than the involved ones.

However, if a scandal is not presented in a sophisticated way, being as pure as distilled water, it will provide precious information for the ordinary people to understand it and judge in a rational way. Nevertheless, we are being victims of the imprecise information every day.