The following is a memorandum from the business manager of television station."Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same t

The problem, mentioned in the passage, I think, is important for this particular company, because it may result in a decline in revenues of the television station, due to the fact of the canceled contracts and possible loss of viewers. Before giving a reasonable solution to the issues, the cause-effect relationship should be quiestioned. This means that it should be investigated wheather the cacelation of contracts and possible loss of customers is caused by the shortage of time, devoted to weather and local news.

The first step to understanding the problem of the possible decline of customers is the analysis of the complaints. It is essential to investigate their structure. This means that the company should understand wheather the complains concern a particular program or a range of programms. It may be possible that the customers are not satisfied with the coverage of weather and local news in general. In this case the television station should seriously take the customer's opinions into consideration.

Another point, related to the structure of complaints, is their number, recieved by the company. It can vary seriously from minor ones to greater quantities. In the latter case it is mandatory for the station to reconsider their programms and offer a well-organized one.

In case of the loss of advertisers there are questions, other than the program, to be answered. The decline in contracts may be the case of stringent price policy or severe competition in the field. The rival companies may seem more appealing from the prospective of advertisemet prices, and this is a major question giving rise to further analysis. If it turned out that the above mentioned question is the reason of the decline, the company should reconsider its price policy.

To conclude, I would like to say that the analysis of real cause-effect is the furhter step needed to understand the case, mentioned in the passage, and take actions towards the solution of the problem.