The following is a memorandum from the business manager of television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

In a memorandum, the business manager conclude that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its formal level will attract more viewer to the program and will not lose more advertising revenues. he gives reason that most complaints received from viewers were concerned with weather and local news and advertisers canceled their contracts with them. There are many ways to refute the idea of the business manager. some of which are as follows.

Firstly, the manager says that most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with station's coverage of weather and local news. But, he does not tell how many viewers complaint about this. if out of 10000, 20 people are complaining about this, then the idea of the manager is purely wrong. what if the viewers which are not complaining are happy with the show. If there are enough viewers complaining about the station's coverage the business manager does not tell that what is complaint about. is it to increase the coverage or decrease the decrease the weather and local news. if the complaint is to decrease the coverage, then the statement given by manager does not hold good.

Secondly, manager says that the advertisers are cancelling the contract with them due to which they are loosing them. what if the advertisers do not want you to increase the coverage of weather and local news and want to augment the quality of your national news. The lower quality could also decrease the viewers which may further affect the advertising contracts.

Finally, what if people who first used to stay late at night to watch news channel have to get up early in the morning to go their respective jobs or people have become more serious about their life and career. If this is the case then increasing the coverage of weather and local news will not increase the viewers.

The manager should answer the above raised points to convince me that increasing the weather and local news coverage will increase the viewers and the advertising contracts. The reason given by the manager are not good enough to prove the decrease in the viewership and advertising contracts.