Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Character of society is formed by the character of men and women living in that society. People may emulate their idols but they cannot define the character of the whole society with just emulating their idols. Everyone has their own perception and thus their own heroes or heroines which they follow. These idols may be movie star, politician or a philanthropist. Irrespective of what they have done for the society doesn't define our societies character. These people may have there own characteristics which may not be coherent with everyone living in the society.

The paparazzis are always behind the famous people and their personal life and have many time related movie stars with scandlus which may be true or not be true. But the point is if they are true that doesn't mean that people liking that movie star have the same character as him. recently, salman khan hit and run case was given the verdict and he was given a clean chit in spite of the crime he has done. He has many fans and followers not only in india but also in other countries. That doesn't mean that people following him are have the same character and will do crimes as him.

Some famous personalities are drug addict. Recently, a news channel showed an Indian famous singer Honey singh being in a rehab centre because of his drug addiction. He has many fans who not only listen to his music ardently but also worship him. He has a huge fan base across India. Does this show that all his fan do drugs? no, they it does not. This shows that the character of the society does not depends on the character of the men and women they are following or consider their role model.

Another example is of the politicians who has been elected by the people as their leader. Suppose that political leader gets caught doing some unscrupulous work . Does it define the character of people who voted him? no. If a politician is corrupt it is because of his own character not because of the people who elected him. people who elected him may be conservative, good natured or soft hearted. It is not necessary that they have to be corrupt because the politician which they elected is corrupt and indulges in unscrupulous work.

From the above points it can easily be concluded that the character of the society cannot be determined by the character of the men and women that society chooses to be it's role model but is determined by the people living in that society. There may be heroes and heroines which are imitated by people but as a whole the character of the society is defined by the people living in it.