The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of this letter concludes that to reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, Balmer island city council should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. To support this conclusion the author cites the fact that last year, seaville town council enforced similar measures, they attained 50 percent annual decrease in moped accidents. For several reasons the author provide scant reason to limit mopeds.

To begin with, Author assumes that all other conditions will be same that might affect the accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians. However, restriction of rental mopeds might force people to purchase mopeds instead. Also number of pedestrians might increase in the future; with more pedestrians the accidents could increase instead of decrease. Without considering and ruling out these factors the author should not say that decreasing rental mopeds will decrease number of accidents in Balmer island.

Next, the author does not consider the reason of last year seaville town decline in accidents. There might be a fair climate in which mopeds accidents are less likely to happen. The Roads of seaville town might be broader which decreases the chances of accident in seaville town. Fewer tourist might have visited seaville town last year which decreases the possibility of accidents. There might be enforcement of new strict traffic rules in seaville town which may have decreased the number of accidents. In any event,a decline in seaville town accidents for one year is not sufficient to state that decreasing rental mopeds will decrease the number of accidents in Balmer island.

Additionally, in asserting that the same phenomenon that caused 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville will cause 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents in Balmer island is very limited conclusion. Perhaps Balmer's ability to enforce the restriction is not as strict ac seaville's ability to enforce the restriction. If this is the case, then Balmer island might not achieve 50 percent decrease in accidents. Or population of seaville is always greater than Balmer. In this case also Balmer may not achieve the desired percentage . decrease in accidents. Since the author has not provided these possibilities, the editorial's conclusion cannot be taken seriously.

Finally, Decrease in mopeds can increase the pedestrians which might decrease the accidents between mopeds but increase the mopeds pedestrian accidents.

In conclusion, the author's conclusion is not well supported. To convince me that the proposed would achieve the desired outcome, the author has to ensure that no changes that might affect moped-pedestrian accidents will occur in future. And he has to rule out the possibilities stated above which can affect moped-pedestrian accidents. moreover, the author should give information of the rate of accidents in seaville prior to and after the restriction on rental mopeds.