A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted

The Pet food company concludes that the recalled pet food is not responsible for the symptom like vomiting, lethargy and other sign of illness experienced by the pets of different owners y giving the reason that the recalled pet food samples were tested and the testing result showed that all the chemicals in the food were right and are approved for the use in pet food. By meticulously observing the reason given by the company i do not find this reason adequate and sufficient.

Firstly, as the author states that the sample were tested and the results were positive, there is no mention of how many samples were tested. if out of 4 million or more samples only 1000 or 10000 samples would have been tested than the result might be purely false. company should test each and every sample recalled and moreover, show the result to the public via newspaper or its official magazine or catalogue.

Secondly, the company should also state that the complains are not only registered for their brand but for other brands too to strengthen its conclusion. If this particular brand is being criticized for its substances in pet food which are leading to these symptoms then there are very high chances that the company is responsible for their costumers health.

finally, the company stated that after the recalled samples were tested, all the chemicals present in the food are approved for the use of pet food, but there is nothing said about the concentration of the chemicals used in the pet food. If the concentration differs that can also lead to many dangerous symptoms. The company is mum about the concentration of the chemicals used so that might be the possibility the company is hiding from the user of this particular brand.

In the end, I think this pet food company has not given the adequate and strong reasons for its conclusion that their food is fit for the pets. company should test all the sample not only for used chemicals but also for the concentration used in them. For giving the strong reasons, the company should rule out all the possibilities mentioned above in the essay and should own up for its mistakes and try to improve further.