The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The letter concludes to ban skateboarding to attract more customers so that the central plaza get its glory back. And to justify this conclusion it points out that skateboarders are nearly the only people around central plaza, the plaza is littered and its property is damaged.further the letter points out that many central plaza owners think that ban of skateboarding will increase the shoppers in central plaza. This argument is flawed in several critical respects.

First,the editorial falsely assumes that ban of skateboarding is sufficient and necessary condition to achieve their objective. Perhaps the city can achieve its objective by other means al well-for example ,by creating a new park that attracts the skateboarders. Even if banning skateboarders is necessary, the author has not shown that banning skateboarders is sufficient and adequate to bring back the shoppers. Assuming that plaza's reputation is now tarnished and enticing shoppers back would require to clean the litter and graffities, promoting the plaza to the public, or opening famous food chains in the plaza.

Secondly, the author of the letter hastily states that ban of skateboarders will attract more shoppers rather than some other phenomenon. perhaps the plaza's old appeal was because of the showroom or food plaza which has been closed now. Litter and vandalism could be the reason of less shoppers now in the plaza which has been defiled by the shoppers itself. Or perhaps the crime rate has increased near the central plaza which led to the decrease of shoppers. Without ruling out these alternatives, the author cannot convince me that the skateboarding ban would reverse the decline.

Thirdly, what if the skateboarders might have started coming to the central plaza due to the decrease of shoppers in the plaza and the author might be confusing cause with effect. It is the possibility because skateboarding is mostly enjoyed where there are fewer pedestrians.

Fourth, it is unreasonable of the central plaza owners for saying that it will augment their sales by banning skateboarders by not giving any convincing conclusion. There might be personal grudge between the central plaza owners and skateboarders due to which the owners want the ban of the skateboarding. the owners should focus on promoting the plaza and making a clean and fun environment to increase the adults and children rather than giving unconvincing causes.

Finally, I would say that skateboarding is an enjoyable activity which would attract children and adults to the plaza rather than eschewing them. continuing this activity might also achieve the author's goals.

In sum, the argument is not convincing. To strengthen it author must provide strong and clear evidence that skateboarding, and not other activities is the cause for decline in the shoppers in the central plaza. The author must also convince me that no alternative means of restoring the glory of the plaza is available.