The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Writer of this analytic piece has drawn unsubstantiated conclusion from disjoint and incomplete information, that the business in central plaza will return to his previously high level if skateboarding and vandalism is prohibited.

There is no connection between decreasing the shoppers in central plaza and increasing popularity in skateboard. There are many other reasons behind decresing the shoppers in plaza. Whether they give proper service or not? In this plaza there are fewer discounts or high rate then other shops in this state? And communication with the customers is proper or not? These factors affect the number of shopper most seriously.

Secondly, writer states that decrease in their business is due to number of skateboard user in plaza. But how many skaters are there in the plaza? Whether they are 5 or 15 or 50 . Writer has to give some statistical information to prove his argument. And according to the passage central plaza is the place where the skaters were increased in last two years. Skaters choose place to do their practice which is quiet . There may be some other place where skaters influence was high. But frequencies of skaters were increase in this particular plaza. Possibilities behind this reason was that decease in number of shops in plaza, it is not hectic place as it was two year ago. Thus skater were choose to practice in this place.

Thirdly, editor argues that there is an increase in vandalism and litter. But there is no incident mention in this passage regarding it. However plaza have security guard and security camera to prevent this, there is no evidence which point out this issue or there were no witness, who confirm this situation. Thus it is irrelevant to fuse vandalism to this issue. There is no guaranty that after prohibiting the skaters the business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels. It is baseless assumption which is made by writer.

In general, it may be said that the writer has failed to make a convincing argument because of the complete absence of statistical data. No convincing reasoning is given . The argument ends with an entirely unjustified optimistic conclusion based on vapid observation that are likely to be implausible.